Croatia is a transitional country, at the same time both mid-European and Mediterranean. It is a country at the crossroads of larger European regions. Continental Croatia has borders with five countries: Bosnia and Herzegovina (932 km), Slovenia (501n km), Hungary (329 km), Serbia (241 km) and Montenegro (25 km). It has sea borders with Slovenia, Montenegro and Italy.